vanillan@lemmy.world to pics@lemmy.world · edit-25 months agoThis is Jehan Pages, the top developer behind GIMP, a free open source photo editor. Adobe executives hate Jehan. Because of his hard work, Adobe lost millions of dollarslemmy.worldimagemessage-square28fedilinkarrow-up135arrow-down12
arrow-up133arrow-down1imageThis is Jehan Pages, the top developer behind GIMP, a free open source photo editor. Adobe executives hate Jehan. Because of his hard work, Adobe lost millions of dollarslemmy.worldvanillan@lemmy.world to pics@lemmy.world · edit-25 months agomessage-square28fedilink
minus-squareGhostalmedia@lemmy.worldlinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up0·5 months agoWhat are some other good open alternatives to GIMP? Having been in the design trade for 20 years, I’ve mastered countless design applications, but GIMP’s UI is something I have always struggled with. My goto these days has been photopea when I need something fast and free… but it’s not open and it’s ad supported.
minus-squareace_garp@lemmy.worldlinkfedilinkarrow-up1·edit-23 months agoI’ve heard PhotoGimp mentioned as a more familiar UI, for those moving over from locked-in software. Actual website --> https://github.com/Diolinux/PhotoGIMP Spam site ~~https://phtogip.com/~~
minus-squareKaffeburk@lemmy.worldlinkfedilinkarrow-up2·3 months agoIdk it its new but the photgimp dot com link is rouge and directs you to spam. I believe this is the real one https://github.com/Diolinux/PhotoGIMP
minus-squareace_garp@lemmy.worldlinkfedilinkarrow-up2·3 months agoThanks for heads up about the spam. I’ve changed the link.
What are some other good open alternatives to GIMP?
Having been in the design trade for 20 years, I’ve mastered countless design applications, but GIMP’s UI is something I have always struggled with.
My goto these days has been photopea when I need something fast and free… but it’s not open and it’s ad supported.
I’ve heard PhotoGimp
mentioned as a more familiar UI, for those moving over from locked-in software.
Actual website --> https://github.com/Diolinux/PhotoGIMP
Spam site ~~https://phtogip.com/~~
Idk it its new but the photgimp dot com link is rouge and directs you to spam. I believe this is the real one https://github.com/Diolinux/PhotoGIMP
Thanks for heads up about the spam.
I’ve changed the link.